Advisory Panel

The Advisory Panel is made up of people from across the food system with extensive experience of the issues we are tackling. We have asked them to review our work as it progresses; to provide strong independent challenge; to introduce us to people we should be talking to; and to point us towards things we should be reading.

We want to ensure that no stone is left unturned and that our ideas are examined from every angle. We don’t expect panel members to agree on everything. Indeed, we would be surprised if they did. But by subjecting our work to the toughest scrutiny, the advisory panel will test our ideas and make them better.


Minette Batters

President, NFU

Helen Browning

Chief Executive, Soil Association

Craig Livingstone

Farmer of the Year, 2018

John Shropshire

Chairman, G’s Farm

Rebecca Laughton

Campaign Coordinator, Landworkers Alliance


Paul Clarke

Chief Technology Officer, Ocado

Justin King

Former Chief Executive Sainsburys, Non-Executive Director, Marks & Spencer

Sarah Mukherjee

Chief Executive, IEMA

Sebastian Munden

General Manager, Unilever UK & Ireland

Andrew Selley

Chief Executive, Bidfood

Alastair Storey

Westbury Street Holdings (WSH) Founder and Chief Executive

Gerard van der Hut

Managing Director, Rijk Zwann UK Ltd

Roger Whiteside

Chief Executive, Greggs plc

Non-governmental bodies, arm’s-length bodies, and campaigners

Denise Bentley

Founder, First Love Foundation

Baroness Boycott

Member, Food, Poverty, Health and the Environment Committee, House of Lords, former Chair of the London Food Board

Tony Juniper

Chair, Natural England

Academics and experts

Meredith Crowley

Reader in International Economics, University of Cambridge. Specialising in international trade

David Halpern

Chief Executive, Behavioural Insights Team

Susan Jebb

Professor of Diet and Population Health, University of Oxford

Tim Leunig

Visiting Fellow, Economic History, London School of Economics

Steve McCorriston

Professor of Agricultural Economics, University of Exeter

Theresa Marteau

Director of Behaviour and Health Research Unit, University of Cambridge

Jeremy Oppenheim

Founder & Senior Partner, SYSTEMIQ

Jonathan Valabhji

National Clinical Director for Diabetes and Obesity, NHS England